The Port of Liverpool Building is one of the historic Three Graces along Liverpool’s stunning waterfront, as well as with the Liver Building and Cunard Building.
Following a competition launched by the Mersey Docks and Harbour Board for local architects to submit designs for the new headquarters, the Grade II* listed design by Sir Arnold Thornely began construction in 1904. The building was completed in 1907, costing £250,000.
The Second World War, however, resulted in damage to many Liverpool structures, and the Port of Liverpool Building was no exception. As the city offered one of the greatest ports in the world, it became a target for the Luftwaffe during the May Blitz in 1941. As a result, a heavy bomb reached the basement in the Port of Liverpool Building and exploded, causing significant damage to the eastern wing.
Luckily, the Port of Liverpool’s structural integrity remained intact, and the building received a full restoration once WWII was over, with the restoration costs exceeding the original construction fee.
The Port of Liverpool Building served the Mersey Docks and Harbour Board, which later became known as the Mersey Docks and Harbour company, for 87 years before the company moved to a new headquarters in the north of the city in 1994. However, the company owned the building until 2001.
The building has recently been converted into office space, and stands as a stunning reminder of Liverpool’s iconic maritime history.